Web Hosting Forum - Net Hosting Talk

We are a community of individuals and businesses passionate about web hosting. Let's build, learn, and grow together.

Help I need advice on web hosting

StacyNex

Novice
Hi,

I'm seeking advice on setting up a small website for my new company. I hope you can help me choose a domain name and hosting provider.
Here's some context:

• I'm on a tight budget, so I'm looking for something that won't cost more than $10/month.
  • My target audience is located in the UK.
  • WordPress is the best CMS for my needs, as I'm not an expert, and I need a simple website to showcase my company and its services.
  • I don't have any experience with managing Linux servers or infrastructure.

Here are my questions:

• Is it better to buy the domain name and hosting from the same provider?
  • Is WordPress the best CMS for this type of website? If not, what would you recommend?
  • Is it recommended to have my company's email address associated with my hosting provider? Or should I use a service like Microsoft or Google?
Any other advice or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

I appreciate your help!

• Advertisement
  • Here is my advice:
    • It's better to get your domain through a separate provider.
    • The great thing about WordPress is how large the community is. Due to that, there is such a prominent theme and plugin library available even for free.
    • Web Hosting providers are typically not great for email services; incoming email is typically acceptable, but outbound email can have reputation issues.
    • If you are on a budget and want an email service like Microsoft or Google but for free for up to 5 users, check out Zoho.
    • "Shared Hosting" is good for starters.

Thank you very much for your help. I appreciate you took the time to answer my questions. I will take a look at the options you mention.

Is it better to buy the domain name and hosting from the same provider?